To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: What Is Your Degree, Specialty, Major, Etc?
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > Physforum > Comments / Suggestions

Grasshopper
Basically, if anyone is interested, give an introduction of yourself, including your degree(s), specialties, or majors. Maybe a little personal info, too.

I've had a little bit of interaction with some of you, but I would like to get to know some of you a bit better. Also, I would like to know exactly what kind of physics, math or general science demographics we have here.

Thanks to all respondents!

Since I started this, here's my info:

I'm an undergrad sophomore, majoring in physics. I haven't really narrowed it more than that yet, but I intend to teach at a college or university eventually. As far as other academic interests, I sometimes enjoy skin deep encounters with philosophy (God knows you can get lost in it if you go too far...).

Anyway, who's next? smile.gif

EDIT- if this is old news, sorry mods. But I didn't see anything like this.
BenTheMan
EDIT- if this is old news, sorry mods. But I didn't see anything like this.

You'll find that the mods don't really care what goes on here.

I'm Ben. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Chemistry, where my specialization was Analytical instrumentation. I have a Master's Degree in Physics---my thesis was called ``Unification in Various Dimensions: From the Heterotic String to Randall-Sundrum''. Currently I am a PhD student, working on getting semi-realistic low-energy physics from string theory.
Euler
Hi, my name's Leonhard Euler and I live St Petersburg. I don't publish as many results as I used to, but in my hay-day I enjoyed areas of number theory, classical mechanics, geometry, graph theory, combinatorics, acoustics and I dabble with Newton's calculus. Less about me though, more about a certain chap I know of in the UK...