To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: Relationship Between Temperature And Heat Energy
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Other Sciences > Chemistry

andieje
Hello

I am new to this forum so I hope I have posted this question in the right place.

I studied thermodynamics in the past but never really understood it and just used to the formulae to get the answers to pass exams. Now I am studying it again and I want to understand it this time.

I want to make sure from the start i have my basic definitions and understanding right.

To me, heat energy is thermal energy. heating is a mode of energy transfer. Molcules gain thermal energy which makes them vibrate and rotate. They can then collide into other molecules and transfer their heat energy.

But what is temperature in relation to thermal energy? I would really appreciate a simple intuitive explanation that I can them appy to equations.

Once i understand the relationship between heat energy and temperature I can then move on to entropy smile.gif

many thanks
Matador
Hi,

Correct me if im wrong, but temperature is just the measure of change in energy of a system is it not? for eg, if two systems are placed together, so that the energy from one can flow into the other, then simply the temperature measured is just the flow of energy from one system to the other.This is not the 'amount' of energy that has moved in the system...

Edit #5, this question is a trap lol answer at your own risk of ridicule...
piersdad
if a block of steel weighing 1 ton was at say 50 c temperature it would have a lot more thermal energy than say a teaspoon at 50c.
i think from my schooling the steel block has a heap of calories or the metric equivalent of heat energy
but the teaspoon at the same temperature will have minuscule heat energy
Matador
QUOTE (piersdad+Oct 7 2009, 06:30 PM)