To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: MEMORY GAPS IN HISTORY OF MANKIND
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > General Sci-Tech Discussions > Creation / Evolution

FALKOR
I am not a scientist
l studied Sociology and made my first masters in Historical Sociology
I want to open my ideas to you and discuss them with you :
Reason of this discussion is that l see the social memory and with it all the sociological dynamics are deleted as technological progress changes our environment and mechanism of thinking and understanding.
l am ready to make brainstorming even at limits of physics and also a lot around Rudolf Carnap '' extension of possible worlds and intension of possible worlds''
but also do not reject approaches of hermetic knowledge of Enoch feeding human understanding since more than 7000 years.

l am glad to see all participants flowing into a new understanding and thank in advance for your time and precious ideas.
FALKOR
rpenner
No one is denying that information could be lost. The Roman civilization didn't respect the philosophical musings of the Greeks, so the tradition of philosophy was lost. Then when the Roman civilization fell, the memory of the Greek tradition was lost -- in most part.
But the books remain.

When the library of Alexandria burned, lots was lost. Much of it, probably trite and trivial.

But the way to guarantee that information is lost is the hermetic tradition of making things secret. By attempting to hold onto knowledge in the form of hypothetical secret libraries, you guarantee the loss of that knowledge. Books are not gold -- they can be copied and their value persists. If books are not keep well-maintained (the physical part of being a librarian) they just rot. If they are written in a dead or uncommon language on plates of gold, the philistines will melt them down.