To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: Gold Refining At Home
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Other Sciences > Chemistry

dhcracker
Ok Gang,

I've been collecting Gold scrap and I have about a 5 gallon bucket full of cpu's, fingers, and odd ball stuff not to mention the old video equipment in the garage I haven't even plundered yet!

I'm wondering what the best method is. I want to simply make my own chemicals if I can, wouldn't it be better to simply buy some muriatic acid and concentrate that? I would simply have a 5 gallon bucket of acid, a 5 gallon bucket half full of distilled water and put them in a sealed box for a couple weeks to concentrate it.

The tricky part would be making enough concentrated nitric acid. What about the re-agent? Any ideas?

I've never done this before but I routinely dissolve copper from transformers in HCI so I should be able to tackle this.

Next I want to start collecting pgm's from cat convertors.
Montec
Hello dhcracker

Nitric acid by itself will not dissolve gold. However nitric acid will work to remove silver and copper from said circuit boards. The silver can be precipitated out of solution with common table salt. For gold you will need aqua regia. Check out this link for details.
smile.gif
dhcracker
QUOTE (Montec+Sep 21 2010, 06:46 PM)
Hello dhcracker

Nitric acid by itself will not dissolve gold. However nitric acid will work to remove silver and copper from said circuit boards. The silver can be precipitated out of solution with common table salt. For gold you will need aqua regia. Check out this link for details.
smile.gif

Nitric acid and HCI dissolves gold, it takes both thats what aqua regia is my friend.

Sorry I should have mentioned that, I already have the HCI just didn't think to mention it oops.

H202 is used as well smile.gif

Montec
Hello dhcracker
I ran across this article. It seems to be what you are looking for.