To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: End Of Pi Found
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > News discussions > Physics News

JASONQUANTUM1
Hello all,

My name is Jason D. Padgett, I'm a math/physics student in Washington state and I would like to float this idea. I believe that I have found where Pi physically ends. Since the Planck constant is the smallest interval of space that can be measured and still be relative then Pi would physically end at:

Two times the interval from -1 to 1 of the square root of 1-x^2 dx with
delta t=b-a/h.

I apologize for typing this out but the computer I'm on doesn't have equation writing capabilities. In the above equation h=Planck length.

To calculate pi to any decimal we can use a trig formula:

f(x)=xsin(pi/x) As x approaches infinity f(x) will approach Pi. In this equation x stand for the number of sides to a circle. But again, this will physically end when each side to the circle equals one Planck length.

For those who argue that the Planck length may not be the smallest measurement I would answer that this equation will work as long as there is ANY limit to how small you can measure space.

What do you think?

Sincerely,

Jason D. Padgett
JASONQUANTUM1@YAHOO.COM
Sapo
laugh.gif
TheDoc
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
JASONQUANTUM1
One last thing...if you have a graphing calculator graph f(x)=xsin(Pi/x) and you can test this equation for yourself so that you will know it is correct.

Again, this is where Pi as a shape, expanding closer and closer to a circle would physically end (when each side to the circle is one Planck length). Or in integral form when delta t=b-a/h

Jason
TheDoc
QUOTE (JASONQUANTUM1+Mar 12 2008, 01:27 AM)
One last thing...if you have a graphing calculator graph f(x)=xsin(Pi/x) and you can test this equation for yourself so that you will know it is correct.