To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: Dyscalculia, Math Problems, Brain Chemistry
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Other Sciences > Medicine / Health

CJO86
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the PhysOrg forums and I figured I would begin my time here with seeking advice on something that has bothered me for the majority of my life. I am unsure if this is the correct section of the forum to post this topic, since this is not necessarily "news," but I have scanned through others and it seems that it is a general discussion place for health issues.

My problem is this:

I have problems with mathematics that exceed typical explanations as given by, say, theories of the lateralization of brain functions. I have difficulty remembering simple number patterns; thus, at twenty-one years old, I have still not managed to memorize the multiplication tables. As may be evident, my language skills are fine. I have no problems with reading and writing. I do not have dyslexia. But when it comes to understanding mathematical principles, it feels like the gears in my brain cease working, and everything crashes together in a frustrating fit of confusion.