To add comments or start new threads please go to the full version of: Dna Disproves Evolution?
PhysForum Science, Physics and Technology Discussion Forums > General Sci-Tech Discussions > Creation / Evolution

Beaver
Hi everyone, im new here. Im a firm believer in Darwins theory of evolution. smile.gif

Dont know if this has already been discussed before (did a search and couldnt find it) but while discussing evolution with some people someone mentioned that DNA is a pretty big nail in the theory of evolution. Basically, because DNA cannot change itself or combine with other species' DNA to create an entirely new species, this is proof that evolution (macro) cannot happen because there is no way to account for all the changes.

I am no expert in DNA so am a little unsure about it, weather it is a valid point or just another mis-use of a scientific fact to further manic creationists views about a creator.

Heres a bit i could find about it:
Macro evolution can only be defined as an organism acquiring, through mutation, a completely new gene which was not present in any of that organisms ancestors. If a new phenotype (physical structure) is caused by a gene which was present but recessive in any of the parent organisms, then that must be micro evolution.

A good example of micro evolution would be if our little tribe of people who all had brown eyes but had the "hidden" trait for blue eyes caused by a "recessive" gene, went off to some isolated area and lived out of touch with any other people. Over a period of generations, due to death, disease, or what ever, we bred out all of the genes for brown eyes so that we only had the genes for blue eyes and everyone now has only blue eyes. This can only be defined as micro evolution because the gene for blue eyes was already present in the parent organisms. Micro evolution works fine with both creation and evolution models. The debate is about macro evolution and not micro evolution.